The Car

The GP of




Current venue: Barcelona

The first race to take the name the Spainish GP was in 1913, but it wasn't until 1951 that it became part of the World Championship calendar. The first race was held at Pedralbes but did not return until 1954. There was then another break in the Spainish GP until it returned to Jarama in 1968. The venue then alternated between Jarama and Montjuich until 1979 when again it was left off the calendar, although it was held in 1980.

It return again for one year in 1981 at Jarama before becoming a permanent fixture at Jerez between 1986 and 1990. In 1991 it moved to its current venue, Barcelona.

Previous Winners

Last 10 seasons
Year Driver Constructor
1998 Hakkinen, Mika McLaren Mercedes
1997 Villeneuve, Jacques Williams Renault
1996 Schumacher, Micheal Ferrari
1995 Schumacher, Micheal Benetton Ford
1994 Hill, Damon Williams Renault
1993 Prost, Alain Williams Renault
1992 Mansell, Nigel Williams Renault
1991 Mansell, Nigel Williams Renault
1990 Prost, Alain Ferrari
1989 Senna, Ayrton McLaren Honda

Most successful Driver

3 Wins
Mansell, Nigel 1987, 1991, 1992
Prost, Alain 1988, 1990, 1993
Stewart, Jackie 1969, 1970, 1971

Most successful Constructor

6 Wins
Lotus 1968, 1972, 1973, 1977, 1978, 1986

[Back] [Formula 1]