The Car

The GP of




Current venue: Monte Carlo

The first Monaco GP was held in 1950. It had taken a considerable amount of time to get the Monaco GP on the circuit but it was only to last one year. During the first race, a wave crashed over the circuit sending most of the cars crashing out. Monaco had to wait until 1955 for the World Championship to return and it has been staged there every year since.

Monte Carlo is one of the prestige dates on the calendar being one of the few street circuits.

Previous Winners

Last 10 races
Year Driver Constructor
1997 Schumacher, Micheal Ferrari
1996 Panis, Olivier Ligier Mugan Honda
1995 Schumacher, Micheal Benetton Ford
1994 Schumacher, Micheal Benetton Ford
1993 Senna, Ayrton McLaren Ford
1992 Senna, Ayrton McLaren Honda
1991 Senna, Ayrton McLaren Honda
1990 Senna, Ayrton McLaren Honda
1989 Senna, Ayrton McLaren Honda
1988 Prost, Alain McLaren Honda

Most successful Driver

6 Wins
Senna, Ayrton 1987, 1989 - 1993

Most successful Constructor

9 Wins
McLaren 1984 -1986, 1988 - 1993

[Back] [Formula 1]