The Car

The GP of




Current venue: Suzuka

The Japanese GP first appeared in 1976 at Fuji. The event only lasted two years at this venue before reappearing after a ten year break at its current home Suzuka.

In the very first race, Niki Lauda and James Hunt were fighting it out for the title. Lauda went into the race three points in the lead but due to torrential rain, Lauda pulled out after the second lap. Hunt knew he had to finish fourth or better to win the 1976 Driver's Championship; he finished third and took the title.

Previous Winners

Last 10 races
Year Driver Constructor
1997 Schumacher, Micheal Ferrari
1996 Hill, Damon Williams Renault
1995 Schumacher, Micheal Benetton Ford
1994 Hill, Damon Williams Renault
1993 Senna, Ayrton McLaren Honda
1992 Patrese, Riccardo Williams Renault
1991 Berger, Gerhard McLaren Honda
1990 Piquet, Nelson Benetton Ford
1989 Nannini, Alessandro Benetton Ford
1988 Senna, Ayrton McLaren Honda
1987 Berger, Gerhard Lotus Honda

Most successful Driver

2 Wins
Berger, Gerhard 1987, 1991
Hill, Damon 1994, 1996
Senna, Ayrton 1988, 1993
Schumacher, Micheal 1995, 1997

Most successful Constructor

4 Wins
McLaren 1977, 1988, 1991, 1993

[Back] [Formula 1]