The Car

The GP of




Current venue: Magny-Cours

The French have the honour of having held the first Grand Prix in 1906. This being the case, it was inevitable that the French GP would be a round in the inaugural World Championship held in 1950.

This first race was held at Reims where it stayed most of its early life switching ocationally to Rouen-les-Essarts and Clermont-Ferrand. In 1971 it was held at Paul Ricard for the first time where it was to stay for13 out of the next 19 races. In 1991 it moved to its current home at Magny Cours

Previous Winners

Last 10 years
Year Driver Constructor
1997 Schumacher, Micheal Ferrari
1996 Hill, Damon Williams Renault
1995 Schumacher, Micheal Benetton Ford
1994 Schumacher, Micheal Benetton Ford
1993 Prost, Alain Williams Renault
1992 Mansell, Nigel Williams Renault
1991 Mansell, Nigel Williams Renault
1990 Prost, Alain Ferrari
1989 Prost, Alain McLaren Honda
1988 Prost, Alain McLaren Honda

Most successful Driver

6 Wins
Prost, Alain 1981, 1983, 1988 - 1990, 1993

Most successful Constructor

7 Wins
Lotus 1963, 1965, 1970, 1973, 1974, 1977, 1978
Williams 1980, 1986, 1987, 1991 - 1993, 1996

[Back] [Formula 1]