The Car

The GP of




Current venue: Montreal

The Canadian GP became a World Championship race in 1967. It was first held at Mosport Park, moving to St Jovite in 1968 and 1970. In 1978 safety at Mosport Park was becoming a problem and so a new track was built in record time at Ile de Notre Dame in the middle of the St Laurence Seaway. It was finished just in time for the 1978 GP and fittingly the Canadian Gilles Villeneuve won the race.

The Canadian GP has been run there ever since.

Previous Winners

Last 10 years
Year Driver Constructor
1997 Schumacher, Micheal Ferrari
1996 Hill, Damon Williams Renault
1995 Alesi, Jean Ferrari
1994 Schumacher, Micheal Benetton Ford
1993 Prost, Alain Williams Renault
1992 Berger, Gerhard McLaren Honda
1991 Piquet, Nelson Benetton Ford
1990 Senna, Ayrton McLaren Honda
1989 Boutsen, Thierry Williams Renault
1988 Senna, Ayrton McLaren Honda

Most successful Driver

3 Wins
Piquet, Nelson 1982, 1984, 1991

Most successful Constructor

7 Wins
McLaren 1968, 1973, 1974, 1976, 1988, 1990, 1992

[Back] [Formula 1]