The Car

The GP of




Current venue: Melbourne

The Australian GP became an official world championship race in 1985, although the first race was held in 1928.

It was in Aderlaide in 1986 that Nigel Mansell (driving a Williams-Honda) needed to come third or better to clinch his first World Championship title. Tyres had proved to be a problem with other cars so Williams decided to bring Mansell and team mate Nelson Piquet in for a check. Mansell never made it to the pits, his left rear tyre exploded forcing Him to wrestle the Williams into a run-off area. Alain Prost in his McLaren-TAG took the flag and with it the 1986 Driver's Championship.

Ten World Championship races were held at Aderlaide before the venue changed in 1996 to Melbourne.

Previous Winners

Last 10 years
Year Driver Constructor
1998 Hakkinen, Mika McLaren Mercedes
1997 Coulthard, David McLaren Mercedes
1996 Hill, Damon Williams Renault
1995 Hill, Damon Williams Renault
1994 Mansell, Nigel Williams Renault
1993 Senna, Ayrton McLaren Honda
1992 Berger, Gerhard McLaren Honda
1991 Senna, Ayrton McLaren Honda
1990 Piquet, Nelson Benetton Ford
1989 Boutsen, Thierry Williams Renault

Most successful Driver

2 Wins
Berger, Gerhard 1987, 1992
Hill, Damon 1995, 1996
Prost, Alain 1986, 1988
Senna, Ayrton 1991, 1993

Most successful Constructor

7 Wins
McLaren 1986, 1988, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1997, 1998

[Back] [Formula 1]