The Car

The GP of



Buenes Aires

Current venue: Buenes Aires

The Argentinian GP is another that has had a chequered history. First run as a Formula 1 world championship event in 1954, it remained on the calendar until 1960. It was then stopped due to a lack of money only to re-appear in 1971 and rejoin the world championship calendar in 1972. It was then a regular event until 1981 when the Falklands War cause further economic problems and the racing stopped again.

The Argentinian GP returned in 1995, and has always been held in Buenes Aires.

Previous Winners

Last 10 years
Year Driver Constructor
1998 Schumacher, Michael Ferrari
1997 Villeneuve, Jacques Williams Renault
1996 Hill, Damon Williams Renault
1995 Hill, Damon Williams Renault

Most successful Driver

4 Wins
Fangio, Juan Manuel 1954, 1955, 1956, 1957

Most successful Constructor

3 Wins
Williams 1980, 1995, 1996

[Back] [Formula 1]